St Lawrence


'Teach children how they should live, and they will remember it all their life.' (Proverbs 22:6)



Reading through systematic synthetic phonics

At St. Lawrence, we follow the recommendations of Letters and Sounds framework to teach phonics. 

To compliment this, we use the fully decodable Pearson Phonics Bug books and Floppy's Phonics for early reading, which are aligned to the phases of Letters and Sounds. 

In this way, we are able to confidently match the correct reading books to each child's growing knowledge of the required phonemes.

Once children are confidently decoding we then use Bug club independent books to enrich their reading experiences and foster a love of reading.  

Further information from Pearson,

What is Bug Club Phonics?

Part of the Bug Club family, Bug Club Phonics is one of the DfE’s approved phonics teaching programmes and aims to help all children in your school learn to read by the age of six in a fun and accessible way.  Following the order of Letters and Sounds, the whole school programme matches the National Curriculum and Early Learning Goals.

134 fully decodable readers with fiction and non-fiction titles from Letters and Sounds Phases 2 to 5 including stories from the hugely popular CBeebies Alphablock characters ensure children read from books with the sounds they know as they are learning to read. All titles are also available in an engaging online reading world which includes allocatable eBooks so all children can apply the knowledge and skills from their phonics lesson at home that night.  

St Lawrence English Curriculum - Reading Phonics 2021

St Lawrence English Curriculum - Phonics and Spelling for Writing 2021

Phonics Bug Structure Books and Phase Progression

Letters and Sounds - DFES